Yogi begins 2nd innings; 24 Ministers lose berth

Yogi Adityanath was sworn in as 41st Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh in a grand function at the Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana International Cricket Stadium in Lucknow on Friday along with two Deputy Chief Ministers and 50 other Ministers.

The Yogi 2.0 Cabinet has a mix of youth and experience as the Chief Minister has given chance to many newcomers and first time MLAs. He dropped as many as 24 Ministers and retained only 22 Ministers from his first term as CM. 12 Ministers could not win the Assembly polls.

Governor Anandiben Patel administered the oath of office and secrecy to Yogi and his council of Ministers in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, national BJP president JP Nadda, and Union Defence Minister and local MP Rajnath Singh.

A number of Union Ministers and Chief Ministers of BJP-ruled States attended the function at Ekana Stadium, which was chock-a-block with people.

While Cabinet Ministers took oath separately, the Minister of State (Independent charge) took the oath in a group of two and the Ministers of State in a group of four.

Yogi replicated the template of his 1.0 Government of having two Deputy Chief Ministers. He reposed faith in Keshav Prasad Maurya despite his losing the election and appointed him Deputy CM. Instead of Dr Dinesh Sharma, Yogi appointed Brijesh Pathak as Deputy CM, thus projecting him a Brahmin face of the BJP.

Two Deputy CMs —Maurya and Pathak — 16 Cabinet Ministers, 14 Minister of State (Independent charge), and 20 Ministers of State took the oath of office and secrecy.

Prominent among those  dropped in the second term of the Yogi Government include Jal Shakti Minister Dr Mahendra Singh, Health Minister Jai Pratap Singh, MSME Minister Sidharth Nath Singh, Urban Development Minister Ashutosh Tandon  Excise Minister Ram Naresh Agnihotri, Deputy Chief Minister Dinesh Sharma, Industry Minister Satish Mahana, Power Minister Shrikant Sharma, Minority Welfare Minister Moshin Raza, Tourism and Religious Affairs Minister Neelkanth Tiwari, Agriculture Export Minister Sriram Chauhan, Transport Minister Ashok Kataria, Social Welfare Minister Ramapati Shastri, and MoS Medical and Health Atul Garg.

Danish Azad Ansari, a new Muslim face,  replaced Mohsin Raza as a Minister.