Monday, June 24, 2024

ECI Submits List of Elected MPs to President for 18th Lok Sabha Formation – N.F Times

New Delhi: The Chief Election Commissioner (CEC), Rajiv Kumar, accompanied by Election Commissioners Gyanesh Kumar and Dr Sukhbir Singh Sandhu, met with the President of India on Thursday.

They submitted a notification from the Election Commission of India (ECI), as per Section 73 of the Representative of People Act 1951 to President Droupadi Murmu. This notification contained the names of the members elected to the House of People in the recently concluded 18th Lok Sabha General Elections.

The President’s official handle posted about the meeting on X.

After their meeting with the President, the CEC, the Election Commissioners, and senior officers of the Commission visited Rajghat. They sought the blessings of Mahatma Gandhi, dedicating the successful and violence-free conduct of the General Elections 2024 to the Mahatma.

In a subsequent press note, the ECI announced the cessation of the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) with immediate effect. However, the MCC will remain in operation in the Graduates’ and Teachers’ constituencies of Karnataka, Maharashtra and Telangana due to the ongoing biennial/bye-elections to the Legislative Council from Graduate and Teachers constituencies.

Related Articles