Monday, June 24, 2024

Odisha Govt to Appoint Chief Secretary Soon – N.F Times

Bhubaneswar: With the swearing-in of the new government, the state will appoint a new Chief Secretary of Administration. The new Chief Secretary will succeed Deepak Kumar Jena, an IAS officer from the 1989 batch, who is currently serving an extended term of six months post-retirement.

Under the new regime, it is reported that a seasoned Odia officer will assume the role of the new Chief Secretary of Administration. The announcement of this appointment will be made immediately after the new government assumes power. In addition, there will be a reshuffling of secretaries across nearly all departments.

The current Chief Secretary, who had his retirement on December 31 of last year, was reappointed for an additional six months by the state government. Consequently, his term is set to conclude on the 30th of this month. There is a lot of speculation within administrative circles regarding who will be the next Chief Secretary.

Notably, Anu Garg is serving as the Development Commissioner and Additional Chief Secretary in the state administration, while Satyabrata Sahu, Deoranjan Kumar Singh, Surendra Kumar, and G. Mathi Vathanan are functioning as Additional Secretaries.

Related Articles