Monday, June 24, 2024

Pakistan Elected as Non-Permanent Member of UN Security Council | Pragativadi | Odisha News, Breaking News Odisha, Latest Odisha News – N.F Times

As non-permanent members of the UN Security Council (UNSC) member, Pakistan along with Somalia, Denmark, Greece and Panama got elected for a two-year term starting from 2025.

In a secret ballot of the UN General Assembly, the five members were elected for a 2-year term starting on January 1, 2025, until December 31, 2026.

In the two seats for African and Asia-Pacific States, Somalia received 179 votes, and Pakistan received 182 votes. In the Latin American and Caribbean States, Panama received 183 votes. In the Western European and other States, Denmark received 184 votes, and Greece received 182 votes.

Pakistan PM Shehbaz Sharif posted on X, “Proud moment as Pakistan receives a resounding 182 votes and is elected to the United Nations Security Council for the term 2025-26”.

“We will continue to play our role in promoting peace, stability, and cooperation among nations,” he added.

Pakistan’s Deputy PM and Foreign Minister, Ishaq Dar, stated that Pakistan looks forward to upholding its commitment to the vision of preventing war, promoting peace, fostering global prosperity, and promoting universal respect for human rights as outlined in the UN Charter.

Related Articles