Tuesday, July 23, 2024

Odisha Govt Declares Holiday for Banks, Courts on July 8 for Rath Yatra – N.F Times

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Government on Wednesday declared an additional holiday in the state for Rath Yatra. Banks, Magisterial Courts including state government offices will also remain closed on the 8th of July, Monday after the Rath Yatra which is on Sunday.

The Revenue Department issued the notification after the declaration by CM Mohan Charan Majhi.

On Tuesday, CM Majhi chaired a special review and coordination meeting in Puri Municipality Hall ahead of the world-famous Rath Yatra. The CM announced two days for government offices for the festival on the 7th and 8th of July as this year the Rath Yatra is being observed for two days.

As the Netrotsav, Nabajouban Darshan and Rath Yatra will be observed on the same day, the annual sojourn of Mahaprabhu Jagannath and his siblings will be held according to the rituals conducted in the 1971 Rath Yatra.

According to the decision of the Chhattisa Niyog, the Chariots will be pulled from ‘Ratha Khala’ to Singha Dwara after the passing of ‘Agyanmala’ from ‘Patadian’.

Once all the rituals are completed, devotees will begin pulling the massive chariots of the Holy Trinity starting at 5 pm. The 2024 Rath Yatra is set to follow the same rituals as those observed in 1971, 53 years ago. Consequently, it will take two days for the chariots to arrive at the Srigundicha Temple.

Related Articles