Wednesday, July 17, 2024

Rath Yatra 2024: Twice Pulling Of Rath To No Nabajaubana For Devotees | Pragativadi | Odisha News, Breaking News Odisha, Latest Odisha News – N.F Times

Puri: Every year, on the second day of the bright lunar fortnight of Ashadha, the coastal town of Puri bustles with joy and enthusiasm as it celebrates the Jagannath Puri Rath Yatra.

This occasion features the ceremonial procession of Lord Jagannath, his brother Balabhadra, and his sister Devi Subhadra.  As conch shells resonate and drums synchronise with rising chants, the deities are carried out of the temple as they journey to Gundicha temple in a chariot to visit his birthplace.

Special Occasion After 53 Years:

Odisha Chief Minister Mohan Charan Majhi has announced a two-day holiday for the Rath Yatra on July 7 and 8, marking a special occasion after 53 years. This was followed by a high-level meeting where CM Majhi highlighted the significance of this rare two-day festival, last observed in 1971.

President Droupadi Murmu is expected to arrive in Puri on the evening of July 6 and join in the celebrations on July 7.

Rituals That Are Set To Take Place After 1971:

On the occasion of Rath Yatra, devotees pull the chariots from the Jagannath Temples along the streets of Puri to Gundicha temple. This is considered auspicious and is believed to bring good luck to the ones who do it.

Three new Raths are built every year before the festival begins and are designed in a specific way.

Interestingly, this year, devotees will get an opportunity to pull the chariots of the three deities twice during Rath Yatra. This will be happening after a gap of 53 years, with the last such arrangement being made in 1971 given a specific celestial arrangement.

  • Devotees Will Not Get To See Trinity In The ‘Nabajaubana’:

The rituals of the Rath Yatra begin with the Snana Yatra, after which the idols are prepared for the Rath Yatra. After this ritual, the deities are believed to fall ill and are allowed to recuperate for 15 days. This period is known as ‘Anasara’. During this time, there is no darshan, instead, three Pattachitra paintings of Jagannath, Balabhadra, and Devi Subhadra are worshipped in the temple.

However, with the ‘Anasar’ period reduced to 13 days as per the temple almanac, the devotees will not be able to see the Trinity in the ‘Nabajaubana’, though the rituals will be conducted as usual.

This was officially confirmed as the Shree Jagannath Temple Managing Committee met on Tuesday and approved the Rath Yatra schedule up to the end of the festival, that is Niladri Bije. The schedule was prepared and proposed by the Chhatisha Nijog and the sub-committee for temple rituals.

According to the temple’s ritual calendar, ‘Ratha Agyanmala Bije’ will occur on July 6, while ‘Nabajaubana Darshan,’ ‘Netra Utsav,’ and the ‘Gundicha Yatra’ all fall on July 7. For the sake of rituals, on that day, the chariots will be pulled a short distance, while the deities will be taken to Shree Gundicha temple on July 8, due to a shortened 13-day ‘Anasara’ period this year.

  • Taladhwaja Of Lord Balabhadra To Be Pulled A Short Distance:

Three new Raths are built every year before the festival begins and are designed in a specific way. The consecration of the three chariots will be completed by 11 am, while the ceremonial Pahandi of the deities will begin at 1.10 pm, and be completed by 2.30 pm. Gajapati Dibyasingha Deb will perform the Chherapahanra ceremony around 4 pm.

You can easily distinguish the difference by size, the number of wheels, and the colour.

The main rath is of Mahaprabhu Jagannath and is known as Nandighosa. It has 16 wheels and is covered in red and yellow clothing. The charioteer of this Rath is Daruka, and the rope that pulls the rath is called Sankhachuda.

Sri Balabhadra’s rath is known as Taladhvaja. It has 14 wheels and it is clothed in red and green. The charioteer’s name is Matali, and the rope pulling the rath is Vasuli.

Devi Subhadra’s rath is named Deviratha or Darpadalana. It has 12 wheels and features red and black clothes. The charioteer is Arjun, and the rope is called Swarnachuda.

The pulling of the chariots will commence at 5 pm, starting with the Taladhwaja of Lord Balabhadra, followed by the Darpadalan of Devi Subhadra, and the Nandighosha of Lord Jagannath.

In 1971, only the Taladhwaja of Lord Balabhadra was pulled a short distance to honour tradition, with all chariots being pulled to their destinations the next day. This may be repeated this year.

Related Articles