Sunday, April 14, 2024

Odisha Honors Excellence: 88 Athletes Rewarded for Outstanding Achievements Across Diverse Disciplines – N.F Times

Bhubaneswar: In yet another felicitation ceremony in Odisha, 88 exceptional athletes were recognized for their outstanding achievements in various sporting disciplines and were presented cash awards by Sh. Deepankar Mohapatra, CEO, HPCO, at the Kalinga Sports Complex. The ceremony encompassed team and individual events across various sports including para sports and blind sports, making it a testament to diversity and excellence. A total amount of Rs 19,65,500 was awarded to 88 athletes.

Speaking at the occasion, Sh. Deepankar Mohapatra, CEO, HPCO, said “Congratulations to all the athletes honored today for their remarkable achievements. Your success not only brings pride to Odisha and has the potential to inspire countless others to embrace the spirit of sports. Best of luck in all your future endeavors – may you continue to shine and bring more glory to our state.”

The felicitation spanned across six diverse disciplines, namely Kho kho, Para Athletics, Blind Cricket, Gymnastics, Weightlifting, and Athletics

For the Junior Women’s Kho-kho team that secured the silver medal in the Junior National Championship, each member received Rs. 20,000. Similarly, each member of Odisha’s Blind Cricket Women’s team received Rs. 20,000 for clinching victory in the 4th National Blind Cricket Tournament. In Para Athletics, Rs 3,20,000 was distributed amongst eight athletes for the four gold and four silver medals won at the 22nd National Para Athletics Champions 2024, held in Goa.

Earlier in the year, Odisha hosted the Junior and Senior Artistic Gymnastics National Championship, 15 of the top performers from Odisha were also felicitated at the ceremony. Weightlifters from Odisha were rewarded with Rs 40,000 for gold medals, Rs. 27,000 for silver and Rs.17000 for bronze, following their impressive showing in the recently concluded National Weightlifting Championship 2023-24, in Itanagar, Arunachal Pradesh along with athletes who demonstrated their prowess on the track and field during the 38th Junior Nationals Athletics Championship of 2023 who were rewarded similarly.

This felicitation ceremony celebrated the achievements of talented athletes and underscored the importance of recognizing excellence across various domains. Furthermore, incentivizing athletic performance cash awards is a gesture that not only acknowledges the athletes’ hard work but also provides support for their future endeavors.

Amongst the notable athletes felicitated at the ceremony were Jayanti Behera, Suchitra Parida, Pankaj Bhue (Para Athletics), Jyoshna Sabar, Mina Santa (Weightlifting), Tapan Mohanty, Rakesh Kumar Patra, Mohd Anas (Gymnastics), Bapi Hansda and Sabita Toppo (Athletics)

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here