Sunday, July 14, 2024

Lok Sabha adjourns sine die after PM Modi’s reply to President’s address – N.F Times

New Delhi: The first session of the 18th Lok Sabha, which commenced on 24 June 2024, concluded indefinitely on Tuesday following the approval of the Motion of Thanks for the President’s address during the joint session of both Parliamentary Houses.

Concerning the business of the House, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla informed that the First Session that commenced on 24 June 2024, comprising seven sittings, lasted for about 34 hours.

Birla also informed that Lok Sabha recorded 103 per cent productivity and 539 Members took the oath during the Session.

Referring to the election of Speaker of Lok Sabha held on 26 June 2024, Birla expressed gratitude for electing him as Speaker for the second time through voice vote. On 26 June 2024 also, the Prime Minister introduced the Council of Ministers to the House, informed Birla.

Birla informed the House that the discussion on the Motion of Thanks to the President’s Address on 27 June 2024 lasted for more than 18 hours and 68 Members participated in the discussion. In addition, 50 Members laid out their speeches. The discussion concluded with the reply of the Prime Minister on 2 July 2024. Rahul Gandhi’s appointment as Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha was announced in the House on 27 June 2024, he further informed.

While a total of 41 matters were taken up under Rule 377, 03 Statements were made under Direction 73A.  This apart, 338 papers were laid during the Session, informed Birla.

Birla expressed his gratitude to Bhartruhari Mahtab, Pro-tem Speaker for the smooth conduct of proceedings during the Oath of the Members and election of the Speaker. He also thanked the Prime Minister, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Leaders of Parties and Members of the House for their contributions to running the House smoothly.

Related Articles