Saturday, June 3, 2023

PM dedicates 75 Digital Banking Units across 75 districts to the Nation

Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi today dedicated 75 digital banking units (DBUs) across 75 districts to the Nation. Four such units are from Odisha. The units are located in Cuttack, Khordha, Puri and Keonjhar districts. Joining the inaugural ceremony of DBU at UCO Bank, Salepur in Cuttack district of Odisha, Minister of State for Tribal Affairs and Jal Shakti, Shri Bishweswar Tudu said, DBU is a step towards strengthening financial inclusion efforts of the Government. “The 75 DBUs inaugurated by the Prime Minister today will ensure hassle free banking services round the clock to citizens and ensure financial inclusion of people at the grassroot”, he added. Shri Tudu also inspected the facilities available at the unit and interacted with the senior officers. The DBUs will provide facilities of cash withdrawal & diposit, account opening, FD/RD, digital loans, passbook printing, balance enquiry and fund transfer to the customers. As part of the Union budget speech for 2022-23, the Finance Minister had announced the setting up of the 75 DBUs in 75 districts of the country to commemorate the 75 years of independence of our country. The DBUs are being set up with an objective to ensure benefits of digital banking reach every nook and corner of the country and will cover all the States and Union territories. 11 Public Sector Banks, 12 Private Sector Banks and one Small Finance Bank are participating in the endeavour.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here